Keynote speakers

Shlomo Avineri is Herbert Samuel Professor of Political Science at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem and a member of the Israel Academy of Sciences and Humanities. Avineri’s philosophical interests concern mostly social and political thought of Karl Marx, G. W. F. Hegel, and the early Zionist political theories. He is the recipient of many awards including the Israel Prize in political science (1996) and two Ph.D. Honoris Causa (from the Babeș -Bolyai University and from the Weizmann Institute of Science). Avineri is also a former Director-General of the Israeli Ministry of Foreign Affairs under Prime Minister Yitzhak Rabin. He is the author of numerous books including The Social and Political Thought of Karl Marx (1968), Hegel’s Theory of the Modern State (1972), and Herzl – Theodor Herzl and the Foundation of the Jewish State (2013), as well as the co-editor of Communitarianism and Individualism (1992).

Karen Gloy (em. Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c.) was a student of Carl Friedrich von Weizsäcker and Dieter Henrich. She made her habilitation at the University of Heidelberg, tought at several universities: Heidelberg, Vienna, Ulm and is now teaching at the Ludwig-Maximilians-University of Munich. She got a honory doctor degree from the University of Ioannina. Besides her interest in natural and speculative philosophy, she is inspired by the encounters with different cultures. Among others she published Die Kantische Theorie der Naturwissenschaft (1976), Einheit und Mannigfaltigkeit (1981), Das Verständnis der Natur, 2 Vol.(1995-96), Bewusstseinstheorien (1998, 2. Aufl. 2000, translated also into Polish), Vernunft und das Andere der Vernunft (2001), Philosophiegeschichte der Zeit (2008), Kulturüberschreitende Philosophie (2012), Die Frage nach Gerechtigkeit (2017).

Ágnes Heller is Professor Emeritus at the New School for Social Research in New York.  Heller was a disciple and later assistant of György Lukács, and one of the representatives of The Budapest School. Her later philosophical research focuses primarily on aesthetics, ethics, political theory, and modernity. Heller received many prizes including the Hannah Arendt Prize of the City of Bremen (1995), the Silver Cross of the Hungarian Republic (2004), the Sonning Cultural Prize of Denmark (2006), and the Goethe Medal (2010). She is the author of numerous books including The Theory of Need in Marx (1976), A Theory of Feelings (1979), Can Modernity Survive? (1990), A Theory of Modernity (1999), and The Concept of the Beautiful (2012).

Marco Ivaldo is Professor of moral philosophy and practical philosophy at the University of Naples Federico II (Department of Humanities). He was a student of Alberto Caracciolo in Genoa. His works concern the German idealist philosophy, particularly in the transcendental philosophy of Fichte and Kant. Together with Reinhard Lauth, he established the collection Fichtiana (Vivarium, Rome). He is the author of the general introduction to the philosopher of the Doctrine of Knowledge entitled Fichte (2014). He has also authored other works, including I principi del sapere. La visione trascendentale di Fichte (1987) and Ragione pratica. Kant, Reinhold, Fichte (2012). Ivaldo is the editor of Fichte-Studien (Leiden/Boston).

Jakub Kloc-Konkołowicz is Professor and the Director of the Institute of Philosophy, University of Warsaw. He was a student of Marek J. Siemek. He works in the classical German philosophy and contemporary social philosophy. In 2014, the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation awarded Kloc-Konkołowicz with the Friedrich Wilhelm Bessel-Forschungspreis. He is the author of Rozum praktyczny w filozofii Kanta i Fichtego (2007) and Anerkennung als Verpflichtung: klassische Konzepte der Anerkennung und ihre Bedeutung für die aktuelle Debatte (2015).

Małgorzata Kowalska is Professor of philosophy at the University of Białystok. Her philosophical interests concern contemporary French philosophy and phenomenology, as well as social philosophy (issues related to the ideas of democracy and liberalism in particular). She is the author of Dialectics beyond Dialectics. Essay on Totality and Difference (2000), for which she was nominated for the Nike Literary Award (2001). She is also a translator of the French-language philosophical literature. She was awarded the Prize of the Association of Polish Translators and Interpreters for her translation of Emmanuel Levinas’s Totalité et Infini: essai sur l’extériorité.

Josef Mitterer is Professor of philosophy at the University of Klagenfurt. He was a disciple of Paul Feyerabend. Basing primarily on the critical interpretation of the later Ludwig Wittgenstein’s thought, Mitterer developed the non-dualizing way of speaking. In his philosophy, he criticizes the dualistic presuppositions characteristic for the traditional philosophical discourse. He is the author of Jenseits der Philosophie: Wider das dualistische Erkenntnisprinzip (1992) and Die Flucht aus der Beliebigkeit (2001). Currently, Mitterer is working on his third book entitled  Die Richtung des Denkens.

Tom Rockmore is Distinguished Professor Emeritus at Duquesne University, as well as Distinguished Humanities Chair Professor and Professor of Philosophy at Peking University. His areas of interest include German idealism, Marxism, and aesthetics. In his philosophy, Rockmore argues for a constructivist interpretation of German idealism and supports a constructivist epistemology in phenomenology, aesthetics, and political philosophy. He is the author of numerous books including Fichte, Marx, and the German Philosophical Tradition (1980), On Constructivist Epistemology (2005), German Idealism as Constructivism (2016). His new book Marx’s Dream: From Capitalism to Communism was published in May.

Birgit Sandkaulen is Professor of philosophy at the Ruhr University Bochum with focus on classical German philosophy. Her research interests are the system and the critiques of the system, the problem of subjectivity in modernity, conceptions of reason and rationality, Jacobi and Spinoza in classical German philosophy, and theories of education. She is, among others, the author of Ausgang vom Unbedingten. Über den Anfang in der Philosophie Schellings (1990), Macht und Meinung. Die rhetorische Konstitution der politischen Welt (1992), and Grund und Ursache. Die Vernunftkritik Jacobis (2000). She co-edits Friedrich Heinrich Jacobi. Ein Wendepunkt der geistigen Bildung der Zeit (2004) and Gestalten des Bewusstseins. Genealogisches Denken im Kontext Hegels (2009). She is coeditor of the journal Hegel-Studien and of the edition of Jacobi’s correspondance.